NDHSAA Board Of Directors Meeting Recap (January 18)

January 18, 2018 3:45 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – The North Dakota High School Activities Association Board of Directors met on Thursday, January 18.

Highlights of the meeting included the announcement of new NDHSAA Board members for the 2018-19 school year, approval of guidelines for NDHSAA 2019 and 2020 Football Plan, approval of sub-region assignments for Class B softball and approval of 2018 fall region tournament sites.

New NDHSAA Board members for the 2018-19 school year are:

  • Mark Rerick, Athletic Director at Grand Forks Public Schools, was elected as the Class A East representative.

  • Jeremy Brandt, Central Valley Superintendent, was elected as Class B Northeast representative.

  • Alexis Baxley, Executive Director at the North Dakota School Board Association has been appointed as the NDSBA representative.

The election of NDHSAA Board Members is determined by a vote of member schools.

The approved 2019 and 2020 Football Plan Guidelines can be found at:


The 2019 and 2020 Football Plan Timeline can be found at:


The 2019 and 2020 NDHSAA Football Plan will include 16 teams in Division AAA, 12 teams in Division AA, 32 teams in Division A and the remaining teams in 9-man division.

Please Note: Final approval of the 2019 and 2020 NDHSAA Football Plan will take place in September 2018.

The 2018 NDHSAA Class B Softball Region alignments will now include two sub regions for the East and West Regions. Four teams from each sub region will qualify for the region tournament. Four teams from each region tournament (East and West) will qualify for the state tournament.

The Four Sub Regions are as follows:

Southeast Sub-Region: Central Cass, Enderlin Maple Valley, Hankinson/FCT/L/R, Hillsboro/Central Valley, Kindred/Richland, Northern Cass.

Northeast Sub-Region: Dakota Prairie, Grafton, Larimore, May-Port-CG, Pembina County, Thompson.

Southwest Sub-Region: Beulah, Central McLean, Heart River, Solen/Standing Rock, Washburn, Wilton/Wing, Watford City.

Northwest Sub-Region: Bishop Ryan, Des Lacs/Burlington, Glenburn, Harvey/Wells County, Kenmare/Bowbells/MLS, Ray, Stanley, Velva/Drake/Anamoose, Westhope/Newburg/Bottineau.

Along with approving the 2018 Fall Region Tournament Sites the Board also approved a site change for the 2018 State Cross Country Meet. The 2018 NDHSAA State Cross Country Meet will be hosted in Jamestown on October 27.

The Board also approved meeting dates for the 2018-19 school year.

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.