Burwick wins No. 5; Bismarck High & Lisbon grab state titles

February 16, 2019 9:30 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

FARGO – Hettinger/Scranton senior Kyle Burwick wrapped up his prep wrestling career with another individual championship on Saturday at the FARGODOME.

Burwick scored a tech fall over Chandler Nagel of Linton/HMB in the 126-pound Class B championship match at the 2019 North Dakota High School Activities Association State Wrestling Tournament.

Burwick, a University of Wisconsin signee, finished his season 54-0. He became just the sixth prep wrestler in state history to win five or more individual state titles.

In the Class B team individual points race, Lisbon took home the 2019 NDHSAA Class B Team Individual State Championship scoring 177 points. The Broncos had three grapplers win individual state titles – Boeden Greenley (106), Caleb Nielsen (113) and Jordan Sours (152). New Salem-Almont came in second with 151 points.

Lisbon has now won the last three Class B team individual state championships.

Bismarck High won its second straight NDHSAA Class A Team Individual State Championship on Saturday. The Demons had six wrestlers win individual state titles – Christian Tanefeu (106), Wilfried Tanefeu (113), Laken Boese (126), Ryan Ripplinger (138), Brandt Kringlie (152) and Chase Dockter (285). Bismarck High finished with 205.5 points. Dickinson finished runner up with 175 points.

The individual state title for Ripplinger at 138 pounds marked the fourth of his career.

Individual State Champions

Class A

Christian Tanefeu (Bismarck High)
113: Wilfried Tanefeu (Bismarck High)
120: Reece Barnhardt (Bismarck St. Mary’s)
126: Laken Boese (Bismarck High)
132: Drew Steidler (Bismarck St. Mary’s)
138: Ryan Ripplinger (Bismarck High)
145: Matthew Rader (Bismarck Century)
152: Brandt Kringlie (Bismarck High)
160: Kolbe Booker (Fargo Davies)
170: Nolen Demery (Turtle Mountain)
182: Cade Pederson (West Fargo)
195: Matthew Kaylor (Bismarck Legacy)
220: Paul Vandal (Jamestown)
285: Chase Dockter (Bismarck High)

Class B

106: Boeden Greenley (Lisbon)
113: Caleb Nielsen (Lisbon)
120: Clay Gerhardt (New Salem-Almont)
126: Kyle Burwick (Hettinger/Scranton)
132: Coy Awender (Oakes)
138: Riley Zachmeier (Rugby)
145: Chauncey Dittus (New Salem-Almont)
152: Jordan Sours (Lisbon)
160: Nathan Weigel (Napoleon/G-S)
170: Garrett Jangula (Napoleon/G-S)
182: Mark Hastings (Hillsboro/Central Valley)
195: Coy Spooner (Des Lacs-Burlington/L&C)
220: Beau Jeffers (Bowman County)
285: Riley Molter (South Border)

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.