Dickinson's Aanen Moody wins ND Mr. Basketball

March 19, 2017 4:15 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

MINOT, N.D. – Dickinson senior standout Aanen Moody was named North Dakota Mr. Basketball by the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association on Saturday, March 18 following the NDHSAA Class B boys basketball championship game.

Moody, a University of North Dakota signee, was one of seven finalists for the annual award given to the state’s top senior boys basketball player.

Moody averaged over 30 points per game his junior and senior seasons. He finished his prep career with 2,192 points – the most scored by Class A player in state history.

Other finalists for this season’s Mr. Basketball Award were:

KyJaun Johnson, Minot
Jacob Mertens, Devils Lake
Siman Sem, Fargo North
Jake Paper, Fargo Davies
Tronis McKay, Four Winds/Minnewaukan
Logan Nelson, Northern Cass

A 5-3-1 points system was used to decide the winner with each NDAPSSA member voting for their top three choices.

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.