2018 NDHSAA Class A Speech Tournament Results

April 24, 2018 4:00 pm

The 2018 and sixty-sixth annual NDHSAA Sponsored State Class A Speech Tournament was held at Jamestown High School on April 21. All participants qualified from one of two regional tournaments or at an invitational tournament held during the season.

Valley City captured first place with 129 points. Bismarck St. Mary’s took second with 76 points, Dickinson third with 73 points, West Fargo Sheyenne took 4th with 50 points.

Elected by peers as the 2018 State A Speech Coach of the Year was Nathan Amberg of Dickinson.

The following are the top place winners in each of the 14 categories.

Radio Broadcasting: 1st –Preeti Chemiti, West Fargo Sheyenne; 2nd –Kamryn Hellman, St. Mary’s; 3rd –Eliza Johnson, Valley City; 4th –Anthony Vecchia, St. Mary’s; 5th –John Lahlum, Valley City; 6th – Page Schoer, Fargo Davies; 7th –Dawson Dutchak, Dickinson; 8th –Anthony Schreier, Grand Forks Central

Storytelling:  1st –Emma Fleischacker, St. Mary’s; 2nd –Elaxandera Penny, Dickinson; 3rd –Jacob Nistler, Bismarck Century; 4th – Joseph Mollet, West Fargo; 5th – Thomas Fleischacker, St. Mary’s; 6th – Ella Konieczka, St. Mary’s; 7th –Juliet Geffre, Shanley; 8th –Isabelle Haugen, Fargo North

Extemporaneous Programmed Reading:  1st –Madison Barndt, Dickinson; 2nd –Amalia Thomas, St. Mary’s; 3rd –Anna Joyce, West Fargo ; 4th –Casey Hennessy, Grand Forks Central; 5th –Sarah Stinson, West Fargo; 6th –Rose Grimestad, Fargo Shanley; 7th –Hillary Moberg, Dickinson; 8th –Rylee Lindemann, Fargo Davies.

Humorous Duo: 1st –Talia Germann/Andrew King, Valley City; 2nd –Adam Mastel/Sean King, Grand Forks Central 3rd –Haiden Pederson/Kylee Gifford, Bismarck Legacy; 4th–John Goettle/Kendall Tibor, St. Mary’s; 5th – Anthony Schreier/Mikayla Martin, Grand Forks Central; 6th-  Rasia Mackey/ Kyler Smith, Dickinson; 7th – Andrew Tong/Torgun Knudsen, Williston; 8th – Breonna Rance/Autumn Thompson, Devils Lake

Dramatic Interpretation:  1st –Rose Marcellus, Valley City; 2nd –David Opdahl, Valley City; 3rd –Jeremy Parker, Dickinson; 4th –Shiori Kudo, Fargo South; 5th –Natalie Lopez, Dickinson; 6th –Madi Klabo, Valley City; 7th –Bonnie Thompson, Dickinson; 8th –Trey Zent, St. Mary’s

Extemporaneous Speaking:  1st –Shiori Kudo, Fargo South; 2nd –Forrest Weintraub, Fargo Davies; 3rd –Josh Ward, Shanley; 4th –Raeef Rahman, West Fargo; 5th –Brandon Prichard, St. Mary’s; 6th –Gurty Johal Shanley; 7th –Juliet Geffre, Shanley; 8th –Dyuti Dawn, Fargo Davies.

Poetry:  1st –Rebecca Duncan, West Fargo Sheyenne; 2nd –Rylee Lindemann, Fargo Davies; 3rd –Monisha Terry, Valley City; 4th – Aicha Doume, Fargo South; 5th – Paige Thorgerson, Dickinson; 6th –Parker Faris, West Fargo Sheyenne; 7th –Zoey Sours, Fargo South; 8th – Zaynab Said, West Fargo Sheyenne.

Humorous Interpretation:  1st –Anna Joyce, West Fargo; 2nd – Andrew King, Valley City; 3rd –Thomas Fleischacker, St. Mary’s; 4th –Madeline Robinson, Fargo South; 5th –Monisha Terry, Valley City; 6th –Skye Auka, Valley City; 7th –Kacy Marie Jiran, Grand Forks Central; 8th –Bethany Belleque, Devils Lake.

Serious Duo:  1st –David Opdahl/ Morgan Jenner, Valley City; 2nd – Rose Marcellus/Abby Slyter, Valley City; 3rd –Jeremy Parker/Makenzie Theurer, Dickinson; 4th –Maggie Oberlander/Eliza Johnson, Valley City; 5th–Kelli Vetter/Maria Fleck, St. Mary’s; 6th –Joseph Lauinger/Samara McDermid, Jamestown; 7th –Bethany Belleque/Jenna Baerwald, Devils Lake; 8th-Joseph Mollet/Sofia Hansen, West Fargo

Inform:  1st –Anthony Vecchia, St. Mary’s; 2nd –Mara Ballard, Dickinson; 3rd –Dawson Ducthak, Dickinson; 4th –Saige Thurlow, Fargo Davies; 5th – Autumn Thompson, Devils Lake; 6th –Dhruvika Patel West Fargo Sheyenne; 7th –Alice Benedetti, Devils Lake; 8th –Solveigh Barney, St. Mary’s

Serious Prose:  1st –Maggie Oberlander, Valley City; 2nd –Parker Faris,West Fargo Sheyenne; 3rd –Makenzie Theurer, Dickinson; 4th –Samara McDermid, Jamestown; 5th –Chase Angermeier, St. Mary’s; 6th – Amalia Thomas, St. Mary’s; 7th – Rylie Fode, Bismarck Century; 8th – Gina Nelson, St. Mary’s

Speech to Persuade:  1st –Abby Slyter, Valley City; 2nd –Elizabeth Borg, Valley City; 3rd –Preeti Chemiti, West Fargo Sheyenne; 4th –Aicha Doume, Fargo South; 5th –Devyn Halvorson, Devils Lake; 6th –Dhruvika Patel, West Fargo Sheyenne; 7th –Saige Thurlow, Fargo Davies; 8th –Jordan Montgomery, Jamestown

Impromptu:  1st –Isaac Spanjer, Fargo North; 2nd –Elizabeth Borg, Valley City; 3rd –Micah Winburn, Minot; 4th –Zoey Sours, Fargo South; 5th –Luke Young, West Fargo Sheyenne; 6th-Brandon Prichard, St. Mary’s; 7th-Whitney Tiegs, Dickinson; 8th-Raeef Rahman, West Fargo.

Speech to Entertain:  1st –Alice Benedetti, Devils Lake; 2nd –Elizabeth Gazeley, Valley City; 3rd –Sofia Hansen, West Fargo; 4th –Mitchell Krings, Shanley; 5th –Maya Thompson, Dickinson; 6th –Jordan Aberle, St. Mary’s; 7th –Grace Widjaja, West Fargo Sheyenne; 8th –Mekhi Doume, Fargo South.