NDHSAA Fun Facts Friday (February 9)

February 9, 2018 11:30 am

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – Each Friday NDHSAA Media Specialist Tom Mix posts several NDHSAA Fun Facts on the NDHSAA NOW site. Keep visiting each Friday and learn more about the NDHSAA and its rich history of sponsoring education based athletics and activities in North Dakota.

  • Former Valley City Superintendent G.W. Hanna served as the first president of the organization that became the NDHSAA.

  • The NDHSAA’s existing Constitution was first formally adopted in 1908 during a meeting in Grand Forks.

  • Fargo Shanley defeated Bismarck Century 73-66 (overtime) in the 2016 NDHSAA Class A girls basketball state title game.

  • Minot Bishop Ryan won three straight NDHSAA Class B girls basketball state titles from 2013-2015).

  • Fairmount defeated Cando 32-30 (overtime) in the 1933 Class B boys basketball state championship game.

  • Fargo North won back-to-back boys hockey state championships in 1981 and 1982.

  • West Region teams have won NDHSAA boys hockey championships in 1992 (Minot), 2014 (Bismarck) and 2015 (Minot).

  • Hankinson defeated McHenry 51-43 in the 1974 Class B girls basketball state championship game.

  • Munich defeated Leeds-Wolford 70-65 in the 1992 NDHSAA Class B boys basketball state title game.

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.